AFSOC enlistment and waiverability

Here is my situation:
I am currently a civilian contractor (unrelated to afsoc) with a security clearance. On that security clearance sf86 i truthfully disclose a single experimental use of LSD in college. It did not prevent me from getting the clearance. I am now seeing that the Air Force permanantly disqualifies anyone with any history of LSD use, no matter the amount/frequency/recency. This is incredibly disappointing to hear, especially considering other service branches offer waivers for this. I am now wondering how strong of a “no” it really is for the Air Force. It seems there must be a way to overcome this obstacle, whether it’s through a petition or trying to escalate up a chain of command or something. It just seems like something too inconsequential for me to accept the “no” without a fight. Am I off bass here? Will i be wasting my time?

Yukon

Staff member
Operator
Hmm, last time I checked AF policy was pretty much a mirror of the policy of the other services. However, security clearance and medical qualification for classification into a occupational specialty are two different concerns. Do you have a link that gives info the Air Force permanently disqualifies anyone with any history of LSD use, no matter the amount/frequency/recency?

SW

Administrator
Staff member
Operator
Looking at AFMAN 36-2032, there is no reference to permanent disqualification for drug use. The AFMAN makes reference to DoDI 1304.26 in which the MEPS chief medical officer makes a determination on a case-by-case basis.
So, I'm with Yukon on this. I don't see what you're seeing on the permanent disqual.

References: