When is the right time to talk to a recruiter

Hello all,
I am currently a Grad Student at Clarkson University ( Potsdam, NY ) studying Data Analytics. I would like to enlist in the Air Force after I graduate and want to become a PJ. I was wondering if anyone had any information about when a good time to talk to an Air Force recruiter during my school. I have 2 years in Grad School and then I plan on enlisting. I was wondering if I should contact a recruiter now to start the process or if I should wait until my last year at school to begin. I assume talking to a recruiter as soon as possible would be the best idea but I currently live in CT but live the majority of my months at school in upstate NY. Would I have to contact a special warfare recruiter in New York or in CT?

SW

Administrator
Staff member
Operator
Grad student to military enlisted? Wow, good on ya. You had a change of heart somewhere down the line?
I would start now, there's no harm in reaching out early. Tell them your timeline and don't feel pressured to sign the papers until you are personally ready. The recruiter can likely get you linked up with the local developer who can assist you with any areas you are lacking in, especially for the pool.
The Special Warfare recruiter is usually regional- it may be the same guy for NY or CT. If not, they may hand you off to one another if appropriate.
Good luck.

SW

Grad student to military enlisted? Wow, good on ya. You had a change of heart somewhere down the line?
I would start now, there's no harm in reaching out early. Tell them your timeline and don't feel pressured to sign the papers until you are personally ready. The recruiter can likely get you linked up with the local developer who can assist you with any areas you are lacking in, especially for the pool.
The Special Warfare recruiter is usually regional- it may be the same guy for NY or CT. If not, they may hand you off to one another if appropriate.
Good luck.

SW